Supreme Court Appoints Three, Reappoints Two to Board for Lawyers Assistance Program

The Kansas Supreme Court appointed three new members and reappointed two more to the Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program board.

New board members appointed to four-year terms that end June 30, 2027, are:

  • Cleotha Daniels, Topeka
  • Pablo Mose, Dodge City
  • Lisa Williams-McCallum, Topeka

Reappointed members are:

  • Amy Elliott, Overland Park, who will serve through June 30, 2029
  • Calvin Williams, Salina, who will serve through June 30, 2026

The Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program is a source of confidential help for lawyers with alcohol, drug abuse, or mental health issues. It also works with other offices that oversee the practice of law in Kansas. A lawyer can be directed to seek its services by the Office of the Disciplinary Administrator if the lawyer is involved in a discipline case.

The Kansas Lawyers Assistance Program provides services designed to fit the needs of lawyers and bar associations, including:

  • referrals for assessments, evaluations, therapy, or treatment;
  • short-term counseling sessions with a licensed counselor;
  • peer mentoring and support, modified interventions, and resiliency groups;
  • help with diversion and probation plans required by the disciplinary administrator or with monitoring contracts required by the Supreme Court's attorney admissions office;
  • guidance in closing a law office; and
  • legal education programs for local and specialty bar associations or law firms.
Posted in KALAP Board.