On April 8, 2020, the Kansas Supreme Court issued several Administrative Orders extending the due date for annual fees, modify continuing legal education attendance and reporting deadlines, and temporarily waiving the limitation on prerecorded programming through September 30, 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
Each year, Kansas licensed attorneys are required to attend 12 hours of CLE, including 2 hours of ethics. For the 2019-20 CLE compliance year, the deadline for attendance remains June 30, but for those who cannot meet that requirement, there is an automatic extension without penalty through September 30. Additionally, for the 2019-20 reporting year, per the Administrative Order, you can complete all 12 of your hours via pre-recorded, “on demand” programs. These programs must still be accredited and approved in Kansas for CLE credit. Please note, on-demand programs differ from live webinar programs. Per the Kansas CLE rules, Kansas attorneys could and can still get all 12 hours via live webinar programs approved in Kansas.
In order to assist with ensuring Kansas lawyers meet their CLE requirements, KALAP will be hosting a series of webinars throughout August and September. Please check the Events page on our website. To find other approved and accredited CLE programs in Kansas, visit the Kansas CLE Commission website.